Where do you see yourself in 5 years? In 10 years?

Have you ever been to one of those seminars that asks you “where do u see yourself in 5 years? In 10 years?” Well, come to think of it, I haven’t given much thought to it. I was asked that exactly 3 years ago, and my priorities were different back then. At that time I had my heart set on applying to med school and hoping to get in. In 5 years, I wanted to be in med school and being almost done with it. In 10 years, I wanted to start my own practice and wanting to publish papers in my name.

However, now with med school out of the picture, and being a biology graduate, the whole picture is different now! In 5 years, I want to finish my masters degree in plant and environmental science and with the thesis subjecting into either natural resource management, sustainable energy or marine biology. And publishing papers.

Also in addition to all that, I want to find a good job. I don’t care if it’s in Lebanon or abroad, it should be in my field and nothing that has to do with teaching. No offense to all teachers, I acknowledge and praise their work with all generations, but I can’t do their work.

In 10 years, I want to have finished a phd degree and start my own project to use natural resources or even waste management to ensure that anything and everything could be used.

Are those to hard for dreams to be followed.

Leave a Reply

